Student Alerts for safeguarding notes on My Homepage

Whether you can record and see Safeguarding Notes and Alerts depend on your permissions:

  • To record the Safeguarding Note, staff will need the Safeguarding: Add Safeguarding Note permission.
  • Staff receive an alert when a safeguarding note is added for any students linked to them through Interventions, Departments, Faculties and Lessons.
  • If they have the Safeguarding: View My Students permission, they will also get a 2nd alert if the safeguarding note is pinned.

If someone can't access this area or aren't getting a Student Alert, you can give them the right permission using these instructions

Screenshot_2021-02-18_at_11.11.34.png

 

How do I know if I am linked to a student?

On your Dashboard, under the My Students tab, click the 'Search for groups and courses e.g. Geography or Year 7' dropdown.

The list of the groups here are the groups you are linked to. Any students within these groups are your 'Linked Students'. These are the students you will receive Student Alerts for.

Screenshot_2021-02-18_at_11.12.00.png

 

How to use Student Alerts

Once a Safeguarding Note has been added and pinned to the top of a student profile (take a look at the Safeguarding Notes section of this article to see how to add this), two new alerts will appear at the top of the Student Alerts section.

You'll get one alert when the note is created, and another when it is pinned.

Screenshot_2021-02-18_at_11.11.34.png

 

If you want to view all the Student Alerts for this Academic Year, click on the title 'Student Alerts'.

Screenshot_2021-02-18_at_11.12.44.png

 

You can also use My Items > My Notifications > Student Alerts tab to see all the Student Alerts.

Screenshot_2021-02-18_at_11.13.21.png

 

How to dismiss alerts

Click the tick box next to the alert you want to dismiss, then click the blue pencil icon and select Dismiss alerts.

Screenshot_2021-02-18_at_11.14.06.png

 

Click the red Yes, Dismiss button, and the alert will then be removed from the Student Alerts list. It isn't possible to bring the alert back once deleted.

Screenshot_2021-02-18_at_11.15.08.png

 

FAQ

Why don't I get Safeguarding Alerts even when I have linked students?

You may be missing the Safeguarding: View My Students permission. You will need to ask your Admin team to add the permission to your profile using these instructions.

I'm an Admin, why am I not seeing alerts of Safeguarding Notes?

Admins don't have any linked students, because they are not linked to any Intervention, Course, Department, Faculty or any Lessons, so will not get Student Alerts.

How do I stop alerts from appearing?

There isn't a way to stop these alerts from appearing, as the staff are linked to the student and shouldn't be unlinked. They will need to dismiss the alerts when they appear if they don't want to keep them in the Student Alerts section.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
I'm still stuck!

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.