Attachments aren't automatically deleted from the Mail merge email page - they will still be there until you remove them when you next visit the page.
This will happen in these cases:
- When you save the email as a draft
- When you click Proceed - the draft will be saved including the attachment
- When you click to go back to your previous page
You can see some best practice guidance on managing attachments here: Attachments and Email Drafts