Adding users and managing their access on the Group MIS

Adding new users to your Group MIS

Check your existing users

Go to Staff > Browse StaffYou will be taken to a list of your existing users. Here you can check that the person does not already have a profile.

Screen_Shot_2018-10-26_at_08.34.44.png   

Add a new staff member and choose which schools they can log into

Go to Staff > Add new staff member and fill in the form for the person to be added.

Select Send welcome email/SMS to send the new user a link, via email or SMS, to sign up and set a new password. Then click Next. The new user profile has been created.

Screen_Shot_2020-03-10_at_14.32.43.png

 

When you click Next, you'll be able to set the access this user should have to the School MIS sites connected to your Group MIS.

  • If you want them to be able to log into all your schools, select the first option.
  • If you want them to only be associated with specific institutions, select the second option and click the drop-down menu to select the clusters or institutions.
  • If the staff member only works for the trust, not in any schools, select No Institutions.

Then click Save.

Screen_Shot_2020-03-10_at_14.34.13.png

 

You will then be taken to the user’s brand new profile. 

 Screen_Shot_2019-09-24_at_11.36.08.png

 

The Group Staff Profile

You can add more details to a staff member's profile if needed, for example logging a staff contract, or adding additional roles.

Contracts

You can add staff contract information by going to Contracts from the left-hand menu. Click to add a new contract.

Please note, to add a new contract you must first have set up a suitable position in Staff > Positions. If you want to include a superannuation scheme you will need to set this up in Staff > Superannuation Schemes.

Screen_Shot_2019-09-24_at_11.48.36.png

 

Add in all the details, then click Create Staff Contract.

Screen_Shot_2019-09-24_at_11.51.06.png

Screen_Shot_2019-09-24_at_11.51.40.png

 

You will then be able to view and delete the contract from the staff profile.

Screen_Shot_2019-09-24_at_11.52.35.png 

Roles and Permissions

Without a role, the user will have no permissions in the application and will be unable to access any of its features. 

To add additional business roles, click Roles and Permissions in the left-hand menu. Click '+Add in the Roles and Permissions section. This will open a page where you can select a role for your new user.

Screen_Shot_2019-09-24_at_11.37.19.png

 

Choose a role and select a start date for that role, then click 'Assign role'.

Screen_Shot_2018-10-26_at_08.41.35.png

 

Next, choose whether the staff member is associated with all institutions or not by clicking in the Institution Permissions section.

Screen_Shot_2018-10-26_at_08.43.40.png

Screen_Shot_2018-10-26_at_08.43.49.png

 

You can add institutions the user should have access to. Click here to see how to associate them with clusters of institutions or with individual institutions.

institutions.png

 

 

Removing staff access

You have a few different options if you want to remove access to your Group MIS and your schools (if a user has the permission to do this).

  • End a staff member's business role - Prevents them from doing any actions on the Group MIS and logging into school MISs.
  • Deactivating their account - The user will not be able to log in at all
  • Deleting a staff member - This should only be used if the staff member was set up in error, for example, if a staff member was set up twice.
Ending a staff member's access using Roles

Go to Staff > Browse Staff > Select Staff > Roles and Permissions. Click their current role.

Screenshot_2020-05-13_at_15.07.49.png

 

In the slide over, click Edit then add an end date to their Role and click Save Changes. The date you put in the Until field will be the last day they have access to the areas of the MIS included in this Role's permissions.

Screenshot_2020-05-13_at_15.08.16.png

Screenshot_2020-05-13_at_15.08.25.png 

Deactivating a user's account

Go to Staff > Browse Staff > Select Staff. On their staff profile, click into the Account Details section. 

Screenshot_2020-05-13_at_15.12.12.png

 

In the slide over, click the Disable Account button.

  Screenshot_2020-05-13_at_15.12.20.png

Permanently deleting a user

First, navigate to the user's main Staff Profile page and scroll to the bottom. Click the Delete field.

Screen_Shot_2019-07-10_at_15.33.19.png

 

In the slide over, chose whether just to delete the contact details or all records of this staff member.

Screen_Shot_2019-07-10_at_15.34.02.png

 
0 out of 0 found this helpful
I'm still stuck!

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.