Skip to main content

Delete or merge duplicate staff or guardian profiles

Duplicates

You can easily identify and resolve suspected duplicate records for:

Go to School > Data > Data Quality Dashboard and scroll down to Suspected Duplicates. This section of the Data Quality Dashboard gives you an overview of all unresolved suspected duplicate records at your school.

Please note that once a profile merge has been carried out this cannot be undone, so be sure to carefully check the two profiles you intend to merge before carrying out the operation.

Merging or deleting guardian profiles

Managing guardian duplicates

To merge two guardian profiles go to School > Data > Data Quality Dashboard > Suspected Duplicates > Guardians. Click the row that includes the guardians you would like to merge.

Screenshot_2022-10-17_at_16.31.51.png

 

Review the information in the slide over.

Top Tip: Not sure which guardian profile is most recent? Any students linked to the guardian who are currently enrolled will have their registration form in brackets next to their name.

Screenshot_2020-08-13_at_10.19.35.png

 

If you still want to merge the profiles, select one of these resolutions from the drop-down box:

  • Merge guardian B into guardian A - blank fields in Guardian A will be filled by information from Guardian B and if conflicting information exists for a field, the information from Guardian A and Guardian B will be kept
  • Merge guardian A into guardian B blank fields in Guardian B will be filled by information from Guardian A and if conflicting information exists for a field, the information from Guardian B and Guardian A will be kept
  • Delete guardian A - deletes all data associated with the first profile
  • Delete guardian B - deletes all data associated with the second profile
  • Keep records separate - nothing is changed and there will continue to be two separate profiles.

Click Resolve to implement the changes. 

Screen_Shot_2018-09-24_at_09.33.54.png

 

The duplicates will then move to the Resolved tab.

Screenshot_2022-10-17_at_16.32.14.png

 

Deleting guardians with no linked children

To see guardians not linked to any students go to School > Data > Data Quality Dashboard > Guardians > Guardians with no linked students.

To delete guardians, tick the boxes next to their names, then click the Bulk action button. This process cannot be reversed, so make sure this is the correct course of action.

Screenshot_2022-10-17_at_16.33.51.png

 

You can also click their name to go to their profile and link them to a student instead.

Screenshot_2022-10-17_at_16.34.27.png

Screenshot_2022-10-17_at_16.34.58.png

 

Merging or deleting staff profiles

Managing staff duplicates

To merge two staff profiles go to School > Data > Data Quality Dashboard > Suspected Duplicates > Staff.

Click the row that includes the staff you would like to merge to review the information in the slide over.

Screenshot_2022-10-17_at_16.35.52.png

 

If you still want to merge the profiles, select one of these resolutions from the drop-down box:

  • Merge staff B into staff A - blank fields in Staff A will be filled by information from Staff B and if conflicting information exists for a field, the information from Staff A and Staff B will be kept
  • Merge staff A into staff B blank fields in Staff B will be filled by information from Staff A and if conflicting information exists for a field, the information from Staff B and Staff A will be kept
  • Keep records separate - nothing is changed and there will continue to be two separate profiles.

Click Resolve to implement the changes. The duplicates will then move to the Resolved tab.

Screenshot_2020-10-08_at_13.09.24.png

 

Deleting staff members

Deleting staff members should only be done if they are a duplicate or have been added to your site in error. You should not delete staff who have worked in your school, as the data may be required for the Workforce Census. For these staff, we recommend following the data retention policy instead.

If you want to delete a duplicate staff member, you'll need to do this from the Admin section of their staff profile. This process cannot be reversed, so make sure this is the correct course of action.

Screenshot_2020-10-08_at_13.11.47.png

Screenshot_2020-10-08_at_13.12.15.png

 

FAQ

Can we keep records separate in bulk?

Yes you can - just tick the boxes next to the profiles you want to keep separate. Click the blue pencil icon to select Bulk set as 'Keep separate'.

They'll then show in the Resolved tab.

Screenshot_2022-10-17_at_16.36.23.png

 

Someone is a duplicate but isn't flagging as one

If you're sure that two staff members or guardians are duplicates but aren't being identified as duplicates, make sure that their names are identical. Please note that if a user has a guardian and a staff profile, these do not count as duplicates.

If they're not flagging on the Data Quality Dashboard, be sure to check the Resolved tab to see if someone mistakenly chose to keep the profiles separate.

 

Can I undo the resolution I chose?

  • If you have merged or deleted profiles, this cannot be changed.
  • If you have chosen to keep records separate, you can change the resolution.

Click into the Resolved tab and select the resolved duplicates. In the slide over, you can then select a new resolution.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 3 found this helpful
I'm still stuck!

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.